Joshua Video

This is a video of Joshua desatting.

This is also the CaringBridge post that went along with it.

  • Written February 1, 2013 12:02am by Kate Parker

Last night, Joshua asked me to record a message to give his pediatrician and her nurse when I take Bethany in for her appointment tomorrow.  I did that and then Joshua began desatting, which is not at all unusual, but I decided to catch a snippet of it on video.  I don’t know why; I just turned the camera toward his pulse ox & hit the “record” button. The commentary that I caught on tape was something I want to share, as it’s a good example of the kind of things that come out of Joshua’s mouth on a frequent basis these days.  It’s one thing to write about this kind of thing; it’s another to let you hear it for yourself.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3i9AYh8qZk0&feature=youtu.be

He tells us regularly now that he’s going to stop breathing and then he’ll die, or that he’s going to die and Bethany is going to die and then they will be able to play together in heaven.  While I am sincerely thankful that he is okay with knowing he’s going to die (versus being terrified), it is still a shock to hear him chat so casually about it.  I think what really helped him to not be bothered about the idea of going to heaven was hearing that Bethie would be there, too.  Joshua is happy his baby sister will be with him. As awful as it’s going to be for me to be without both of them, I do find comfort in knowing they will be together and will have each other so they won’t be alone while they wait for the rest of the family to join them.

59 people this

*Interesting fact* Kate states last night in the post. The post is dated February 1, 2013. Video was posted and dated January 30, 2013.

One thought on “Joshua Video

  1. OMG, to hear that little boy say that if the numbers went all the way down, he would die. Not for nothing, that broke my heart. I could never be a social worker. I would kill any parent that abused their children in any way. I honestly just got up and kissed my own sleeping children after reading this. What a horror.

Leave a Reply

